Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Totally Lazy Color Question

DesertDreamer
2008-09-28, 8:05pm
I just discovered the cool stuff that warm yellow does over black (vibrant blue-greens, wow!). I'm sure almost everyone else knows about it but me since I've never been all that experimental with boro. Would someone be willing to save me some time and let me know if the warm yellow does stuff like that with other colors? I don't have a lot of the yellow so I really don't want to waste it. I absolutely cannot buy any more glass for at least a few months. <pout>

Deb
2008-09-28, 8:21pm
I didn't know that either, but I'm a newbie to boro!

Karen Hardy
2008-09-28, 8:49pm
I didn't know about that one either!

However, I will tell you that warm yellow over reds makes
for spectacular pinks and fuchsias.
Try over cherrywood, ruby, etc.

DesertDreamer
2008-09-28, 8:54pm
I didn't know about that one either!

However, I will tell you that warm yellow over reds makes
for spectacular pinks and fuchsias.
Try over cherrywood, ruby, etc.

Ooooh way cool! Thanks! I have a cherrywood short I can play with. :)

I discovered the yellow over black thing when I was making a twistie. I have a little bitty spacer with the warm yellow over black. I'll shoot it & post it tomorrow. It's a lot like some of the soft glass silvered reactions. Apply the yellow over the black, let it cool, then start flashing it into a neutral flame. The blue-green develops after a few flashes.

Karen Hardy
2008-09-28, 9:00pm
Oooohhh. can't wait to see it!

Rose
2008-09-29, 5:08am
I got that reaction when I did scrolling on black with either butterscotch or caramel, not sure, but both may work. It's a nice effect. In fact, I'm going to make a perfume bottle with it.

lavendar420
2008-09-29, 5:04pm
I know that yellow is basically just silver + clear glass & its supposed to generally do interesting things when used over darker colors. The whole reflected light vs transmitted light thingie.

e. mort