Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : I am learning to make beads AND I receive BOC

belliott18
2012-01-14, 8:33pm
Hello!

My name is Beth and I am very new to lampworking. I learned about two months ago while undergoing radiation in Florida and, long story short, I now make beads for the Legacy Beads program which is the same as Beads of Courage but is only at St. Jude.

This is a picture of me with my Beads of Courage. I never got to pick out of the acts of courage beads but I did get to admire them. Those beads mean so much to lots of kids!

Here is a picture of me with my Legacy Beads. They are much more uniform and diverse in that they are awarded for a wider array of medical happenings.

I make the end of treatment proton radiation beads for the kids undergoing proton radiation in Florida as well as the ones at St. Jude. (Which is only possible because of the AMAZING Debra Clutter! She has been so very kind, is helping me learn the ways of lampworking, and allows me to make my sad, simple, boring yet meaningful beads in her studio. Thanks Debra- someday I'll be as good as you.)

You can check out my blog at: bethfightsback.com to read more about the proton beads.

All of your bright beads are making sick kids' days brighter!
(It's true... I've seen it!)
Thank you!

msy439
2012-01-14, 8:46pm
Welcome Beth,I bet your beads are far from boring.So there is another program out there that uses beads for kids.Maybe you could tell us a little more about this.

ginko
2012-01-14, 8:49pm
You warmed my heart.

beadmama
2012-01-14, 8:56pm
Hi Beth:waving:

Welcome to LE. How exciting to be making beads! I hope you post some pictures of them. We would love to see them.

Some my first beads were pretty wonky. Wait... Some still are,..lol... I still have a lot to learn in lampworking.

Becky

DiamondLilGlass
2012-01-14, 8:57pm
Hi Beth! Thanks for sharing :) isn't glass fun! Wishing you a swift recovery!

Kalera
2012-01-15, 12:27am