Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : My Glass is cracking

littlemomma
2012-05-17, 7:58pm
Hi, I'm new here, and I am fairly new to lamp work.
I have, in the last couple days, found some of my glass rods have 'splintered' in places, usually mid rod, and near end, and some have fractures. (this proves how new to this I am: ) I am A.F.R.A.I.D. of that glass, afraid it will 'blow' on me and take of in who knows what direction. I'm still a bit intimidated by all of this and can't take classes, long story on that one.
I don't understand why the rods are fracturing (right word?) they have been used before, not new ones.
In addition, I ordered some glass, and it came that way, and I'm afraid of THAT glass too, so any advice. Use it, make frit, toss it? Solution? thank you in advance! I'm sure I'll have many more questions if I don't run away in terror of flying glass pieces. (Silver smith, torch happy idiot and afraid of glass..lol)
thanks!!

jamie lynne
2012-05-17, 8:33pm
Devardi? Just a guess.

Now I'll ask the question, what glass is it? Some are just shocky. Wear glasses, keep some water near by, and get used to it. It happens to even the most experienced lampworkers.

Sheila D.
2012-05-17, 8:33pm
What brand of glass are you using?

Eileen
2012-05-18, 5:53am
Are you saying you have glass that splintered/cracked while you were using it, or that splintered/cracked on the table with no flame near it?
If while using it, you need to heat it slower to minimize the cracking.
If while it's just sitting there with no heat, I'm stumped.

clh
2012-05-18, 7:39am
Some of my rods have cracked and splintered after use when set on my rod holder. Not many but I recall a day when it seemed they all did. I think it had to do with the way they cooled on the rod rack. Might be the ambient temp in my basement where I work.

I've never received glass in the mail that was cracked though, but I only use effetre (need to branch out for sure!).