Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Photo Critique please

InsanityBeader
2006-05-25, 3:00pm
Im just getting started with doing photos. I took this one and I can't decide what it is that Im not liking about it. I am working off a digital Canon PowerShot A75. Im borrowing a light tent from a friend that comes with side lights. I placed white cardstock behind the beads to take the picture. The beads themselves are etched light pink. I open the floor to constructive Crits and I thank you :)

Added info: I put the camera light setting on a flourescent lighting, turned off the auto flash.

InsanityBeader
2006-05-25, 3:22pm
My editing program is HP Image Zone.

InsanityBeader
2006-05-25, 4:20pm
just fyi as I have yet to see anyone say a thing. I AM reading Chrisann's "Photo adjusting help & critique please" post

InsanityBeader
2006-05-25, 5:37pm
Ok, it's official, I suck! :( I'll keep reading everyone elses' posts and responses and hope that something clicks.

fishtrapper
2006-05-26, 12:15am
Oh dear, no, you don't suck. It is a kick in the gut to post and get no responses though, I'm sorry about that.

On my monitor I would say that your beads look a little out of focus, and the shadows are so soft that the beads don't seem 'grounded'. Etched beads are actually a bit harder to photograph, there are no little spots of reflection for our brains to interpret as, "Shiny, must be glass."

You might try putting something near the beads that your camera can get a better focus lock on, that you can then crop out. Pale color beads sometimes don't give the auto focus enough information to get a good sharp focus. A penny works pretty well.

There are so many little tricks with photographing beads that it's hard to sort out what to include in a brief reply. Try those things and let me know how it's going, post the resulting pictures here. Maybe some more people will jump in.

Best Wishes,

Terri Budrow-Nelson

InsanityBeader
2006-05-26, 4:01am