Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Double Helix

Muses76
2013-05-22, 5:02am
Hi all! I am very new to lampworking. Only been doing it for a month. I got so excited the other day when I read that I could use double helix rods on a hot head torch so I bought some. I used them yesterday and all I can was a metallic color, not the pretty different colors that I have seen. It was an assortment batch so I pretty much tried out every one of them. Here is the process that I used.
Made the bead like normal
covered the holes on the hot head torch
placed the bead back in and let it spin around a couple of times.

Did I do something wrong?

Second question. Every time I make a bead I can't get the little indentation or pucker on the sides. I can maybe get it on one side but thats it. How do I get it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance!

Cherri
2013-05-22, 5:11am
Welcome to the insanity of DH and a HH!

Check out the thread I believe it is "You CAN do it on a HotHead! HotHead User Showcase" in the gallery. Has tons and tons of information and what is possible.

Being still new I am not much for giving information and being comfortable about it. Two things that I found when working towards the DH. Learn heat control and patience.

Cherri

lenora
2013-05-22, 5:18am
You need to encase the metallic sheen with clear or a light transparent to get the pretty colors. This is assuming you are using a reduction glass and not a striking glass.

istandalone24/7
2013-05-22, 9:18am
and you really don't need to bother with covering the intake holes...the hothead flame is reducing enough without help i think.

ICheer
2013-05-22, 5:03pm
I'm on a HH with bulk propane. Some DH colors reduce nicely by themselves on a HH, others like that little bit of extra zing you can get by covering the holes of the torch. Play, experiment, have fun!

Muses76
2013-05-22, 5:25pm