Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : To those of you running a 900+ CFM fan...

LampworkbyLori
2006-07-13, 12:12pm
Is it very loud? Is it going to suck the life out of my torch? I'll be working in an enclosed Barley box-type setup.

Thanks.

Heather/Ericaceae
2006-07-13, 2:44pm
My own fan is only 350ish, (the bare minimum) but I gotta say that 900 sounds like a lot! The trick will be getting enough controlled replacement air so that your house doesn't start sucking air back in through your furnace exhaust, for example (which could potentially kill you with carbon monoxide). I'm not an engineer, but at 900 CFM make sure that you have at least 2 windows (or 1 whole door) open nearby at all times. If you do, then no worries!

What you might want to do is put the fan on a dimmer switch (if it's compatible - again, you may need advice from an electrician) so that you can operate on half-power for normal jobs and boost it to 3/4 or full power for fumier applications like metals or lead-based furnace frits. Fully-enclosed workareas like Barley Boxes generally need less fan-power. Hopefully someone smarter/more experienced than me will jump in with more details! Bottom line: it can work okay if you give it plentiful replacement air, but you might be comfier if you can turn it down for normal work. 900CFM is LOTS! Good luck! -H.

LampworkbyLori
2006-07-14, 9:18am
Thanks, Heather!

RSimmons
2006-07-18, 11:50am
I'm using a squirrel cage blower for my exhaust system. I built a plywood box for it as a vacuum plenum and insulated the inside of the box. It pulls well and is reasonably quiet. The make up air is supplied by the 10 inch duct fan (Suncourt) that came with the GlassCraft exhaust hood. My wife works with her beads in the same room where I have my torch and she's happy with the sound level, if that tells you about the noise.

Robert

LampworkbyLori
2006-07-22, 9:40am
Well..