Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : laserglass studio

laserglass
2006-09-25, 5:59pm
many of you know me from other internet sites like WC. my name is mark, and i am am a glass-oholic. i am a student of glass and have experimented with just about every type of glass craft. i mainlyblow glass in my small home based offhand studio, but i also have a lampworking studio, and even the start of a plasma sculpture studio. i thought i would post a few photos here at LE. i have 2 torches in my lampwork studio. i have a major/minor burner powered by natural gas and tanked oxygen. i also have a national 3a torch powered by natural gas and an oxygen concentrator. the national torch powers a small3 inch diameter bench top glory hole. i built an annealer out of a large mailbox which sits right next to my lampworking area. i built the ventilation hood as well. to the left of my lampworking studio is my small attempt at a plasma studio. it has a crossfire burner (kind of like a glory hole in the air) and also has a high vacuum pump and vacuum manifold.

laserglass
2006-09-25, 6:05pm
i have operated my offhand studio for many years. i believe it to be one of the smallest, if not the smallest offhand studio. it is limited and lots of offhand techniques could not be done in such a small studi, but i find ways to adapt. i have a crucible kiln that holds 40 pounds of molten clear glass. next to it is a small jen ken used to preheat color. i also constructed a powder booth complete with a HEPA filter to reduce glass dust. my 12 inch glory hole is powered by a natural gas/forced air burner. i constructed my stand up bench using steel pipes. my annealer has a 22x22x13 inch interior volume. i have color glass everywhere.

laserglass
2006-09-25, 6:06pm
1 more

one-eared pig
2006-09-25, 6:58pm
Amazing! I had no idea any glassblowing could be done out of a home. Good to know.

Wiley
2006-09-25, 7:55pm
Very Cool!!8)

Becky Mason
2006-09-26, 6:26am
SWEEEEET!!!!!!