Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Protective flooring options?

Lis
2006-12-30, 12:02pm
Hi! I'm moving to a new apartment soon and it's entirely carpeted. I'd like to put some kind of a protective covering on the floor to prevent the carpet from being burned by any lampworking mishaps (I'm a beginner and I have a problem with flying, flaming glass). Does anyone have any ideas for what I might use for this?

Thank you!
-Lis

Feldt's Glass
2006-12-30, 1:18pm
If you are in an apartment you should tell the landlord what you plan on doing or you might have a big problem if they find out you play with fire. I am in an old bedroom. I decided to just take up the carpet and lay tile down. When I move the studio I plan to lay the carpet back and won't have burn marks this way. Do you have a plan for ventilation and propane placement? Please make sure you and your neighbors are safe.

Lis
2006-12-30, 1:22pm
I'm not going to be using propane. I'm afraid of it, and couldn't set it up properly because I'm in an apt complex. I have a hot head torch and I'm using MAPP gas.

bclogan
2007-01-02, 11:32am
I use a welder's blanket. It's 6-ft square.

Lis
2007-01-03, 1:53am
Hi Barbara - Do you have any thoughts on where I could pick up a welder's blanket?

Thanks!
-Lis

Lis
2007-01-09, 12:03pm
I tried finding something fire resistant at the Home Depot but they just kind of stared at me like I had two heads. Help?

bclogan
2007-01-09, 1:01pm
We got our welder's blanket at a welding supply place - the same place I get my O2 tanks refilled. But I think I may have seen one at Harbor Freight in the welding dept.

!ngridh
2007-01-09, 3:44pm