Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Soldering with My Minor Torch

Virginia
2007-05-08, 6:47pm
Hi, Ok, this is just the star of this tutorial - want to get it started, and then will take photos as I go along, actually making some of these Findings. There are things that you need, and I have posted pictures of them, but it beats having to buy an entire new torch. I find that this is easier and cleaner than using my Acetalyne and oyxgen as I HATE the soot involved with Acetalyne. A Lot of jewelers that I know have switched to propane, as it is considerable cleaner. By the way - I have 40 years experience as a custom Gold and Jewelry designer, gold and silversmith, wax carver, stone setter, etc. etc. Over the years I have done work for such people as the elder Mrs. Nordstrom and Fox's fine Jewelry, and have worked inhouse for many large Jewelers and designed lines of jewelry for several Manufactures. I barely touch the stuff anymore, as glass has stolen my life!!! - BUT, if you read some thread, you will find that a lot of the big jewelry shows, won't accept your work, no matter how great it is, unless you make your own findings. Find your own style and have a ball - I have put pics of three styles I have used recently - and will start with those photos and then move onto the tools and chemicals you need. - Virginia

Virginia
2007-05-08, 6:56pm
Ok, the first Chemical you will use is a Borax. This will keep the fire scale off and make the solder flow well, and just generally makes things work better. You mix it with denatured Alcohol, and keep it in a glass jar with a tight lid. Depending on what I do, I either dip the pieces I am working with into the jar of Borax, or else I use a brush to put the borax on what I am soldering, if it is a larger piece. You then put what you are soldering into the flame and burn off the mixtures. Do this carefully, if you have left too much on, the alcohol will drop off, BURNING!!! - so do be careful.