Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Camera, Ebay & Paranoia?

Mopnglo
2007-06-17, 10:26pm
I really need a new camera and I'm having a hell of a time getting one to do the job. I purchased one that I thought would be okay and it turned out to be a piece of crap. After seeing the tread about the Nikon Coolpix 4800 I decided that was the one I'll get (unless someone can tell me of another that is better/just as good) The main use of this camera is for taking pictures of my beads. I really don't want to spend more than $300 and I can't find the said Nikon locally. In searching ebay I found this... Nikon (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=006&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=160126720613&rd=1&rd=1) but after reading the other thread about ebay scams, now I'm paranoid. Has anyone bought from this seller and does this look like a good deal?

Emily
2007-06-18, 11:27am
I'm no camera expert, but when I was reading up on cameras, I know there were a lot of good things said generally about the macro capabilities on Nikons. (It was a while ago, so I didn't read anything specifically about this model.)

About this seller -- do you know about toolhaus.org? It's a website that makes it easy to check out the negative feedback on an ebay seller. You just type in the seller's name and it gives you all the negatives and neutrals, so you don't have to sort through pages and pages. It will also show you any feedback that's been retracted. Very useful! (I tried to punch in the seller for the auction you linked, but the site's loading really slowly right now. You might want to give it a try later -- the problem might be my server, too.)

Tanja
2007-06-18, 3:30pm
I just found one at www.trusteddealer.com for $199. It says it's new. You might want to check that out. I tried to figure how to do a link for you but I'm not that savvy.:wave:

Emily
2007-06-18, 3:53pm