Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Anyone use National Torches?

TMT Designs
2005-10-19, 6:53pm
I'm a newbie at the moment and i'll be working with a National 8M... hubby suprised me with the newb package and frankly I'm getting a bit concerned that I have yet to see it mentioned as a torch that anyone else uses. He made the purchase based on my wanting to try boro at some time.

Anyone out there that could help me out? Maybe give me a little feedback on them?

I'm also curious as to what supply of 02 you are using, being a tank, generator or concentrator and what benefits you may be having from each.

thanks a bunch

new newb on the block :wink:
~Teresa

Rhapsody Fire Beads
2005-10-19, 7:00pm
I used one for a year and half and it worked great. Get the flashback arrestors. I used mine with an oxygen generator. Works great will tanked oxy too! You ought to like it just fine!

I am sure there will be other opinions too.

~Suzy~

Dale M.
2005-10-19, 7:06pm
I have used a National 8M with SM7 tip with 1 oxycon and propane set at 1/3psi for soft glass. It worked quite well at this minimal level for soft glass. IF you used two oxygen concentrators and a higher propane pressure it will be quite hot... Probably equal to a minor or maybe GTT Bobcat.

IF you want to step up to SM21 tip you will probably have to use tanked oxygen to get enough oxygen volume to run large tip effectively....

That said.... The National 8M is probably a bit of a light weight for BIG boro work, but that also depends on what you want to do... IF you work beads and small sculpture it is going to be a great beginners torch and give you lots of service. IF you don't know what you really want, go with this torch and learn...

IF you don't want it, box it up and send it to me!!!!

Dale M.

TMT Designs
2005-10-19, 7:17pm
Whew.. good news!! Thanks for the tip on arresters, I've seen it mentioned (with the almost non existent manual).... just didn't know what they do.