Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Where to buy Austin Thin Films Dichrolux/Dichro Magic boro dichro?

Magicbobcat
2007-12-30, 8:47pm
Hello,
I got a sample of the Dichrolux and love it. It seems like Austin Thin Films only sells wholesale, though. Does anyone know who has the boro dichro from them in stock?
Thanks,
Kelly

Cosmo
2007-12-31, 6:30am
I'd just use CBS or Dichroic Alchemy if it were me...

Magicbobcat
2007-12-31, 7:40am
Hi Cosmo, LOVE your marbles.

I'm fairly new to lampworking, so it may be my inexperience with working with dichro here. Any advice you can give me would be really appreciated.

I have some boro from ABRImagery. When I compare the marbles I made with that to the two I made with the Austin stuff they look very different. The ABR dichro (salmon and rainbow) looks like a lot of little broken needles and chips floating around. It's not white and snowy looking, so I don't think I burned it. The Austin dichro looks more like a solid, deep field of sparkling color. I can see individual "needles" of dichro in there if I look close, but they're much smaller and more densely packed together. I like the way these look much better.

So I guess my question is can I get the same result from the ABR product? Do I need to work it more gently somehow? The Austin dichro is advertised as being less sensitive to temp, etc.

As I said, I'm pretty new to all this. Any advice you can give would be really great. I've been lampworking for about 4 months, and working with dichro for only a few weeks.

Thanks!
Kelly

Cosmo
2007-12-31, 8:30am
I'm not sure what ABR sells. I question the quality of it. Get a piece of DA Starship or a piece of CBS Rainbow and I think you'll be most impressed. I have used the Austin before, and was not very impressed. It doesn't hold up to heat very well, and tends to lose color.