Google

PDA

View Full Interactive Version Of This Page : Torch suggestions please

lysdexia9
2008-02-04, 8:14am
I am a beginner bead/marble maker and right now I am using just a basic torch you can buy at Lowes just to mess around. But I am really into glass and want to get serious. Plus I am held back a lot by this torch. I can't make marbles the size I want and it takes a while to shape beads and marbles. So I have been looking for a torch I can upgrade on. I have found two that most people are saying are good and decent priced beginner torches. But this was on the Melting Pot, I have decided to see if I can get better results with people who are mostly involved with beads and maybe marbles. I have looked at these two torches...

http://www.mountainglassarts.com/s.nl/it.A/id.1332/.f

http://www.mountainglassarts.com/s.nl/it.A/id.613/.f

Both seem to be within a really good price range and I find a lot of people on Youtube using them. But I want to hear from you guys. I am also looking into buying a future kiln. I hear some people are able to get good deals on eBay, is this something I should look into?? Thank you for taking the time to read this!!!

Also, please if you can think of another torch that is better, please feel free to tell.

glassactcc
2008-02-04, 8:22am
Well, here's what happened to me. I started with the Mini CC and I quickly grew out of it. I make very large beads. I would suggest you also check out the National 8M with interchangable tips. It has three and goes from small medium to large. If your planning on doing large pieces, the other two torches might be too small. There are a lot of lampworkers who make large beads on these torches, but it was too slow for me and too much of a dance trying to keep the whole thing hot in such a small flame.

G.L.McBead
2008-02-04, 6:09pm
The Mini cc is a great torch,thats what I used for the the first year or so,I now have a Knight Bullet.
You will want 2 concentrators or tank for the Mini.
Have fun,
G.