Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips, Techniques, and Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   hot head users (past & present) (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=225234)

jujeebeads 2012-05-30 2:31pm

hot head users (past & present)

Hi there!

I need to do a demo tomorrow using a hot head torch, which I have never used before. (I have always used an oxy/prop torch) I am thinking about practicing a bead or two today, just to get the feel of it. Wondering about any tips or tricks I need to know? and how long will a can of MAP gas go for?

thanks! any feed back appreciated!

Cheers~
Judy :)

Eileen 2012-05-30 3:20pm

I think practicing is a great idea, since everything takes a bit longer to do (at least for me).
Also remember it's louder, so if you're talking over it remember to project a little more so people can hear you.
The flame is a bit reducing, so turquoise can get some red depending on your work habits for example.
I think the gas lasts 2-3 hours, depending on how you run your torch, so hard to say.

NLC Beads 2012-05-30 3:29pm

Check some of the threads here:

http://lampworketc.com/forums/showth...light=hot+head

http://lampworketc.com/forums/showth...light=hot+head

Definitely get a feel for it. If it's a newer one, it's really hot and tough to control. Run it lower temp and keep the glass further out from the flame for better results.

jujeebeads 2012-05-30 3:56pm

Thanks Eileen & Nikki! (I have a kitty named Nikki :love:)

I read through the threads you (Nikki) gave me, helpful too! I just set it up and tried my first bead. Not too bad. WoW is it loud! I have watched a demo with a hothead, but not actually sat behind it close. I suppose I will speak loudly and tell them to save their questions for after the demo! Fortunately, I only have to make very simple beads. It's just to show folks who know nothing about melting glass, basically how it's done.