Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips, Techniques, and Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   new jen-ken...what next? (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28558)

tanok 2006-07-23 11:05am

new jen-ken...what next?

Ok, I have never done anything like this before so I am a total kiln virgin. I have followed these steps so far

1.It arrived and I looked at the box for three days panicking slightly.

2. Opened said box, removed the kiln, set kiln in corner and spent next hour cleaning up packing chips and chasing puppy around garden to remove the packing chips from her mouth.

3.Tried to read the instruction manual. Found it to be a very good sedative and went to bed!!

4.Tried to read instruction manual again got as far as the stuff about the digital controller when the words started reading BLAH BLAH BLAH.....went to bed.(really is better than valium)

5.Kiln washed floor and shelf,put on lid, had lengthy arguement with husband about placement of kiln. It's all his fault...I don't know why but it just is.

6................Have to get some work done today so cannot risk reading manual again.

What would you recommend? I am working with Moretti so can I set the controller to reach the annealing temperature shove all the stuff in and then turn it off to cool by itself.

Should I test anneal a couple of crappy beads first on this schedule?

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

You guys are far more interesting and helpful than the manual. I know there is other information about the bead annealer kiln with the orton 3 button controller but I couldn't find anything about the what to do first stage

HELP

Jupiter 2006-07-23 1:32pm

Hi Tanok,