Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips, Techniques, and Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Frustation with implosion (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209587)

PKnowler 2011-11-03 8:04pm

Frustation with implosion

I'm fairly new to lampwork. I'm using a fuel only hot head type torch that I got in my bead makers kit. I've been trying to make implosions with clear glass COE 104 but it takes forever for the glass to melt. I hold the rod at a 45 degree angle so the sides will melt in but after about 30-45 min of this the bead release breaks. I'm so frustrated! Do you think it's me or my torch? Is my torch not powerful enough to make this kind of bead? It takes forever for the glass to melt.

Thanks, Paula

LarryC 2011-11-03 9:09pm

Paula, I wouldn't even consider doing an implosion with a hothead. Not enough heat. It might be possible but I don't have that much patience :)

PKnowler 2011-11-03 9:15pm

It's just as bad if I try and encase anything. The damn glass just won't melt! And if it does and the bead looks alright- then the glass cracks.
:cry: I want a real torch so bad.

~Paula

essiemessy 2011-11-03 11:33pm

8-) Now I know not to try implosions yet on the HH. Always wanted to, though.

Ravenesque 2011-11-04 1:18am

I made them on a HH quite a few times, looks like a mandrel wound implosion? If so, you sorta want slow heat to melt the disc down evenly, so it actually works out ok on a HH. Mine didn't take 30-45 mins to melt though? I was on a HH for years until I upgraded, I'd never have the patience if it took that long to melt and I like big beads :)

Are you on a Hot Head or the red 'fireworks' torch? The fireworks torch I really couldn't do crap on so I bought a Hot Head.
First pic is a HH http://www.howacoglass.com/torches.html

Also wondering why your release is cracking, and your beads for that matter :-k