Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tutorials (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   All glass ring (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56344)

RBIRON_11 2007-06-04 6:59pm

All glass ring

Can anybody post up dumbed down version of how to make an all glass ring(I am quite new to lampworking and would have some difficulty with advanced techniques) Are there finger sized mandrels for this type of project or would I use the steel wool around the small mandrel technique. Any help would be appreciated.

The ring should end up like this it is a normal ring with an accentuated bubble like top

Thanks

Deb Hopeful Journeys 2007-06-04 8:29pm

Hi there.

You can purchase larger ring mandrels. Maybe someone will pop in here with a few links.

SReed 2007-06-04 8:52pm

You can get "Emiko's Big Hole" mandrels from ArrowSprings. They are nice because they are pretty lightweight. I think it is easiest to make the band with a few wraps of stringer and then build up the top afterwards, like Kathryn Wardills demo at the 2005 Gathering in Louisville. You have to flatten the band a bit, and make sure to not make it too thick or else you won't be able to close your fingers--- well, at least not if you have short lil' stubby fingers like mine!! :biggrin:

Sara

RBIRON_11 2007-06-05 3:33pm

Thanks guys Ill look into those mandrels

ShepherdCreations 2007-06-19 9:54pm

I bought a ring mandrel that is for jewelers but it is solid, if I try to make a boro ring on it will I have to use bead release? Thanks folks!

lripster 2007-06-20 2:23am

Hi Patrice,

Brent showed us a trick while he was in town last weekend. He just decorated a large paddle on the end of the rod, heated and stretched, and formed it over the barrel of the torch. It was closer to a bracelet size, but I would think the same technique would work on your ring mandrel. NO RELEASE. Yippee! :)