Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Dark Room (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Something to Share (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=148379)

gemsinbloom 2009-12-15 10:01pm

Something to Share

I have received so much support and help along my lampwork journey over the years and I feel I have given so very very little back. I am actually a newbie when it comes down to it as I only played with the glass part time for many years. I was just too busy with my jewelry business. It has just been this past year where I have focussed most of my time on my glass skills.

I wanted to share a little trick I discovered this past week. Maybe others have already discovered it, not sure.......

I was having a hell of a time trying to get good photos for my glasswork to sell on Etsy. I have all the fancy lights, tent etc but it just was not working. When I realized my whole problem was lighting and the tent was not diffusing the light like I needed, it occurred to me that if I put the beads under water I may get a good result.

And here are the results.

gemsinbloom 2009-12-15 10:04pm

volkanokaren 2009-12-15 10:50pm

Unreal results they look good!!!!Im having a little trouble myself figuring out all the photo stuff too.

Karen Volkano Exotik

bob 2009-12-16 5:33am

They look great. Exactly how do you put them under water, are you doing it in the tent.
Bob

MardiGrasGlass 2009-12-16 7:03am

The reason that you are getting good results under water is because the water diffuses the light. You can achieve the same results by adding another layer of fabric, or other light modifier between your lights and the tent. The more diffusion, the softer the light.

gemsinbloom 2009-12-16 9:39am

I understand the reasons . That is why I tried it. I wonder why I got so few responses. I thought people would be excited as I am lol

Oh wells!

Quote:

Originally Posted by MardiGrasGlass (Post 2793951)