Lampwork Etc.

Lampwork Etc. (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips, Techniques, and Questions (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Is this the place for me? (http://www.lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261471)

Nighthawk 2014-03-03 3:16pm

Hi from the old one

I thought i posted last night but maybe i did not do it right? I have been doing spun glass for 30 years and they called us glass benders back then. The question I had was, is that what is being called Lamp working now? I do glass as a hobby and now ready to start doing more of it again but i don't see two much of what i do out there. Anyone remember a Glass Bender?

Nighthawk 2014-03-03 3:33pm

Is this the place for me?

Hi, i started doing glass 30 years ago for a living working for K & M in Michigan. Now its just a hobby. Back then we were called Glass Benders, doing spun and soild work. Is that what you call Lamp Working today? I thought I posted this but i dont see the post so if im doing something wrong forgive me and please let me know :grin:

Sue in Maine 2014-03-03 3:56pm

Hi Nighthawk,

Welcome aboard.

My guess is you were working with boro when you were doing your spun glass. I'm thinking (but not sure) that you're talking about the beautiful glass shapes that were made from thin boro rods such as pianos, swans and lots of figurines. I think that type of work is beautiful.

Lampworking is a term for glassworkers who melt glass in a torch and make beads, small sculptures, marbles and such. Heck, I'm probably preaching to the choir and you know more about glass than I do!

At any rate, enjoy LE and welcome aboard.

Sue

betsymn 2014-03-03 4:01pm

I remember those pieces! When I was a kid, I had a set of deer.

KayTStudio 2014-03-03 4:02pm

I thought I read your posts too!
I wonder what happened.

nevadaglass 2014-03-03 4:02pm