Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2010-09-19, 7:53am
senior citizen lampworker

Default Working Boro on the Cheap

I have been working boro now for 39 years. What I have learned in that time is that lampworking is creative art form. Not only in the items produced but in the methods and tools used to produce them. With some simple understanding of the principles or physics of glass, and a goal in mind as for the finished product, its only a matter of logistics for it to come together.

Fire is fire. The cost of the torch you are using does not make any differance. I have used some of the most expensive out there but I always go back to my old welding torch. Runing on propane and oxy. An old welding torch can be picked up at a flea market for $20 to $50 dollars. Shoot , go to Lowes and buy a new one for $150.

To work boro in an effective manner, a pre mix torch is required. ie a welding torch. I use a Nortel major/ minor combonation for my soft glass, but when it comes to boro, it just does not have the kick or control I get with my pre mix torch.

More to come later. We will get into home made tools and processes

A YouTube video I made:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2010-09-19, 8:33am
The Beadstress

How incredibly generous of you to share your knowledge. I'm looking forward to your next segment on home made tools! I feel like a kid waiting for Christmas!
BTW - I would also like to thank you for your tutorials on your website. I love your work

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

It always works out in the end. If it hasn't worked out, it isn't the end. - this is what my sister tells me