Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2006-06-29, 7:55pm
Double Trouble!!

Default Depth Perception Question?!?!?!

Hi Everybody!
I'm a Newbie, lampworking off and on in my spare time (HAHA!) for
about 6 months. I was cross eyed as a child, I had surgery, but never
developed any depth perception. Does anyone else lack depth perception?
Do you have any suggestions or ideas that may help when lampworking?
Thanks!!!!
Old 2006-06-29, 8:01pm
I'm the 1000th poster!!

Wow, I just learned about how people with monovision can regain binocular vision.

http://www.wildirisoptometry.com/brock_string.htm

Ask you optomotrist about the "Brock String". I recently heard a woman who regained her binocular vision at age 50. Like you she has been cross-eyed as a baby and had monovision all of her life.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2006-06-29, 8:19pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierces*designs
Wow, I just learned about how people with monovision can regain binocular vision.

http://www.wildirisoptometry.com/brock_string.htm

Ask you optomotrist about the "Brock String". I recently heard a woman who regained her binocular vision at age 50. Like you she has been cross-eyed as a baby and had monovision all of her life.
Debbie... are you an NPR junky? They did a story about that this week!

Regarding depth perception... I think that my beadmaking abilities vary depending on my eyewear. I'm 45, very nearsited, and in recent years have needed reading glasses. The funny thing about my loss of near vision is that my near vision is much better without my contacts than with them.