Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2013-09-06, 12:32pm

Default plyers/holders dichroic strips etc

what kind of (which type of metal) do you guys use when you're working with strips and milifori etc, they are in contact with the glass and in the flame for a long time (!?) I want to buy some strips etc but I'm scared to death they're just gonna fuse with whatever I'm holding them with.
Also, about how many dichroic strips would be in a 1 oz package (1/4" width)? is it 1 strip? I dont feel comfortable paying that when I'm just learning I know I'm gonna destroy atleast 5 strips when i start. Is they're a reasonably priced way to practice working with dichroic strips?
thanks

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

~Susan~
Old 2013-09-06, 12:39pm

Don't know how to answer most of your questions, but my first dichro was a 1 oz scrap packet from Arrow Springs for $6. I just bought more (for the first time) but I haven't used it much, and still have over half of the first packet.

Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Free Lampwork and Jewelry Tutorials, with easy searching, prominent linkage to your shop or site, and rotating featured tutorials:
Old 2013-09-06, 1:04pm

is this what i would use to apply murrini/milefiori? http://www.frantzartglass.com/index....oducts_id=4552
can i heat it up with these in the flame before applying to the base bead?

~Susan~
Old 2013-09-06, 1:34pm

I don't know what other people do, but I warm my murrini NEAR the flame, not in it. For this, regular hardware store needle nose pliers work fine for me.