Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-07-28, 1:53pm

Default Bead Shaping

So, I'm very new to Lampworking, and I love it. A friend lent me a hothead, and gave me a little glass to play with, along with a a few mandrels and some bead release, so I've been able to jump right in.

But I don't have much of a budget for my new obsession. What little I have will likely be spent on gas and glass.

Which means no tools for me for a while.

All I have for tools currently are a few pair of random tweezers/ pliers, a sharp pointy tool, and two small graphite paddles.

No shapers at all. So while I am starting to get decent results with shaping rounds in the flame, and I can make an ok barrel fairly easily, that's about all I can manage. I have some ideas for beads I'd like to try that would require a more flat/ lentil shape. But so far getting anything like a well shaped lentil has eluded me.

I've tried to look for tips threads involving shaping, but haven't had much luck. Does anyone have any advice, tips, etc. for shaping using just a graphite paddle and/ or tweezers?

Thanks!
Old 2010-07-28, 2:23pm

I've seen people use spoons to help with the rounded shape. or two spoons to get more of a lentil shape.
Old 2010-07-28, 2:24pm

At Target and/or Bed, Bath and Beyond they sell (or used to) small stainless steel ice tongs that will make a lentil shape. They're maybe $5 or so. Lots of stainless steel and brass kitchen tools make great lampworking tools and can be found at garage sales and goodwill too.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2010-07-28, 3:33pm