Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2020-08-18, 10:04am

Default Oxygen use, marble technique questions

Hi, I am very new to this, only 2 short courses at Pittsburgh Glass, have only had my own studio space for two months. First - when doing marbles, I have a tendency to end up with a football shape, that takes forever to get rounded back. Any hints as to what I might be doing wrong? also I seem to go thru a 125 cu ft Oxygen tank in 7-8 hours using a Lynx torch. Am I using too much Oxygen?
Thanks
Old 2020-08-18, 11:22am

Marbles are tricky. The man who taught me how to do it once said that an artist will make a hundred or more of them before really getting the idea. This is more or less true, and I certainly made my own share of footballs and eggs.

The way that I do it is to build up a mass of glass on the end of a steel punty (my marbles are smallish--nothing bigger than maybe an inch and a half) made from a third of a welding rod and sharpened to points at both ends. Once my blob is big enough, I will heat it up hot enough to shape, but not until it's super runny.
The initial shaping is done by rolling it in the cup of a marble mold (if you're using a graphite mold, remember to to wipe out the cups first or they will get black stuff all over your glass). Once it's mostly round, I heat the surface until it's hot enough to move but not hot enough to sag out of shape, and roll it on the rim of the cup that is a size smaller than the marble itself. Just use the rim, and change your angle frequently to get as much coverage as you can.