Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2009-05-31, 6:39am

Default Goddess beads

Hello all,
I'm new to Lampwork etc and I'm upgrading my HH to ?. I'm torn between the nortel Minor Bench Burner and the Carlisle Mini CC Bench Burner.

One of the main reasons I want to move up in torches is to be able to do goddess beads. Which of these two would be the best to use for beads like these or can they even do them?

Thanks in advance
Iwannabead
Old 2009-05-31, 9:11am
Micromosaic and Lampwork

I have both the minor and the mini cc, and they are about the same. I think I am favoring the mini cc though.

I am curious what others think?????

I recently got a bigger bench burner, the Bobcat. OMG, it is great, especially for more sculptural work and it does a much better job with Boro. I guess it just depends how big you want to go.

I suggest starting with the CC and if your work gets bigger than 3 inches, or you have trouble with thermal shocking, just graduate to something bigger. It's easy to sell your equipment here on LE if you want insta cash for the upgrade.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 2009-05-31, 9:45am
Goddess

I prefer the Mini CC because it has a wider flame which is nice for sculptural beads. That said, you can make sculptural beads with either of these torches but the minor has a narrower, more pin point flame which I don't really care for. I also prefer the overall design of the Mini, I like that it is made of brass, that the head is movable and especially that you can get a nice torch top marver which is also adjustable. I would be lost without that marver!

Old 2009-05-31, 9:47am