Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2019-05-03, 10:27pm

Default New set up

Hello everyone, I'm moving my studio into my basement and was wondering if I can vent out one window and put propane hose out another window about 10 feet away or if that to close? (Diagram in comments)
Also curious about what would be suitable for a replacement air source. Total newb here
Thanks so much for your help

Last edited by Eppa; 2019-05-03 at 11:07pm.
Old 2019-05-03, 10:39pm
MacGalver

Here's a diagram she shared with me of her work space.....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2019-05-04, 7:02am
Loving learning

I am no expert, but for what it is worth ~ If I am understanding correctly, you are asking about the exhaust vent, and the propane hose bring fuel to the torch.
I have my propane tank right under the exhaust fan. The incoming replacement air needs to be where the fresh air is, and I think 10 feet should be pretty good.

I personally would have the exhaust fan and propane hose at the end by the torch, and open the window 10 feet away for replacement air.
Old 2019-05-04, 9:37am

Are you saying you would vent and put the propane out the same window and use the other window for replacement air?
Old 2019-05-04, 10:03am
Loving learning

Yes. Since the air is going out that window, and the propane hose should not have any fumes anyway, I put mine in the same area (I do bring the propane up through the floor of my shed, but the tank is right there.

The replacement air needs to be free of fumes, and the fumes go out the exhaust fan, so they should not be close.

Someone else may have different take on it, but that is what I do. I will take a photo and show you mine in a minute.
Old 2019-05-04, 10:12am
Loving learning