Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-10-17, 6:25pm
New to the Flame

Red face Eye Protection

Hi Guys -
I've just discovered something and I was wondering if I'm doing the completely wrong thing:
As I set myself up for lampworking, I bought myself a couple pair of diddy glasses and I used them religiously. However, the other day, I was in a hurry and forgot to put them on... and I realized that I had a MUCH easier time in the flame.

Is this totally stupid on my part? I don't want to blind myself, but boy was it easier for me to function.

Any advice? I'm a dorky beginner.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2010-10-17, 7:49pm
Live and Let Live

Are you using soft glass or boro? Didymium glasses are for soft glass, and without them, you typically can't even see the bead you're making for the yellow 'flare' coming off the glass.

You need to wear the eye protection.

Old 2010-10-17, 8:30pm
Ass-kicking Cephalopod

Well, for soft glass it's more for convenience than preventing harm. There's no IR from soft glass like there is for boro.

DOG is my co-pilot
Cricket w/two 5 lpm oxycons - and sometimes a Minor.
Old 2010-10-17, 10:57pm

Hello! Please do wear your safety glasses! I'm just a dorky beginner too , but at the very LEAST, I would worry about glass popping off rods during heating, or other flying bits of hot glass hitting the eyes and potentially causing some damage. There is a thread that speaks of safety glasses here:

http://lampworketc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=175862