Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2011-02-03, 2:46pm

Default What am I ventilating?

I use a Hothead torch with Mapp/pro canisters and mostly work with effrete glass (read total noob). What am I ventilating? Is it mostlythe carbon monoxide from the Mapp I need to worry about?
Thanks!!!
Bea
Old 2011-02-03, 3:07pm
honorary bead lady

For the most part yes, unless you are using powders or fuming
Old 2011-02-03, 3:28pm

Thank you! I have a great ventilation setup, but was very curious! Thank u!!!
Old 2011-02-03, 4:47pm

You're also venting things like NOx (as well as CO, as David notes) and trace elements from the glass (eg colorants), both of which can be irritating or harmful with enough exposure. Good question to ask and good that you've ensured that you have ventillation!!

Linda
Old 2011-02-03, 4:53pm

Carbon monoxide is part of your total torch plume but there is much more to be concerned with. Using a HH you have a moderate amount of unburned fuel that leaves a characteristic smell if not removed. Leftover fume from MAPP in particular gives me a headache. You also generate nitric oxides, usually abbreviated as NOx, which are chronic respiratory irritants. A certain amount of metal colorants also evaporate from the surface of the glass as you melt it and end up in your torch plume (see the next issue of Glass Bead). Fuming, powders, enamels, etc. also add to the volume that needs to go out of your work area. There are lots of good reasons to have the best exhaust system you can get - in the end it is just as important as your torch for a safe working setup.

Robert
Old 2011-02-03, 9:24pm

That is really good information! Would you mind if I share it with some of my friends who are way more casual about ventilation than I am? They think being in a big room with high ceilings is good enough.