LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Old 2008-03-08, 6:31pm
Redbearmountain

Default Enamels!

Hello, I need a tutorial on using enamels. I just purchased some thompson enamels tried making a bead and it was yuck! So I need help on how to use enamels! Thanks! Jacque Duxbury
Old 2008-03-08, 6:40pm

I need help with this too....big time! Not sure where to start. I'm dabbling, but desperately need a tutorial! pllleeeeeeeeease!
Old 2008-03-08, 6:46pm
Redbearmountain

Rudy, I know the feeling! Couldn't wait to get my enamels and then made a reall yucky bead. So I was disappointed! So hopefully we will get some help!
Old 2008-03-08, 6:51pm

So glad you started the thread....I'll be checking every 5 minutes!!!!LOL

I gotta get a life!
Old 2008-03-08, 6:52pm

Just checked out your bio....you are a correctional officer and I am a probation officer. WOW....coincidences!
Old 2008-03-08, 7:44pm

I will try to add a little to this... I am by no means a pro at using them.. but I have used them a lot..

First thing.. YOU HAVE TO HAVE REALLY GOOD VENTILATION.. (ie not a fan and an open window.. CLASS A.. if you talk to an HVAC person).. NEXT.. You HAVE to wear a respirator...not a dust mask either..

I really like using the little sifter that Thompson sells.. it allows you to really place your enamels on evenly and you don't get as many clumps as you do when you roll your bead in them. Start by using the opaques.. and use the transparents as you work more with them.. I find layering them can be a very cool effect too. I don't mix them before hand to come up with a blend.. but I have heard others that really like doing it that way.. Raking them in after they are applied or super heating and allowing your bead to droop to blend them works neat too..

Also, they work wonderfully with silver foil..

After you work with them for awhile you will be able to control the application more, whether you are sifting or rolling..