Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2006-12-18, 1:31pm
Formerly known as Venesa

Default Boro, boro, in the flame...why, or why, won't you strike and who's to blame?

I'd love some boro help from anyone willing to share their tips. (If there is already a really great boro thread addressing my concerns, then please direct me to it! Gracias!)

I'm new to boro and I'm about to jump ship. Here's what's happening. I have Doug R's book and video and I still can't get the beautiful colors that he gets! I melt the heck out of the bead, take it out of the flame to cool, put it back in, and sorta get sludge. Putting the beads in the kiln at his suggested temps don't seem to help either. What am I doing wrong?! (My one ray of hope is a beautiful fuchsia bead that I made and I don't know how I got it. The other five that I made with the same glass came out a dull mauve!!!)

I use a Red Max torch (Minor on top for soft glass), with an Integra 10 concentrator and propane. I tried adjusting the flame to get what GA calls a neutral flame, but when I do that, it's takes until the end of forever for it to melt. Life is too short, help!

Another problem that I'm having is that I keep ending up with bent mandrel tips. Any way to avoid this and still get a bead to melt in a decent amount of time? While we're on that subject, how long should it be taking me to melt an average bead? Am I just too impatient after working with soft glass all this time?

Thanks for any and all suggestions and tips!!

Old 2006-12-18, 1:41pm
ManBearPig

Try this:

Take a rod of GA Purple Luster (the easiest glass in the world to strike). Make a bead on a mandrel using just Purple Luster. Shape it and heat it up very hot. So hot that it goes completely clear.