No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-09-07, 9:01pm

Default How to fix a cracked bead?

Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting, although I've used the site many times. I made an amazing underwater bead that cracked (argh!!). The crack appears to be due to uneven heating/letting the bead get too cold (??) even though I thought I was really careful. Is there any way to fix this bead by heating it up really hot in the kiln? ...Or any other way? I'm (hopefully) attaching pics.
Thanks!

Old 2010-09-07, 9:54pm
burnin' glass just becuz

yup, i've done it several times but it's not easy: don't remove bead from mandrel, put cold bead in kiln, ramp up slooooowwwlllyyy no more than 200F/hr to preheat in the kiln to about 980F. let bead sit at max temp for at least an hour - you want the bead to be evenly heated through to the core

then... here's the tricky part (so if you really love this bead maybe practice with another cold bead first)... cool the mandrel with a damp cloth and remove the bead. begin waving it faaarrr out in your flame slowly wafting/twirling the bead in and out of the flame to slowly reheat it evenly.

moving slowly is the key - the idea is to slowly reheat the bead through to the core without cracking it so watch the layers of glass and as each layer heats to glowing you can move a few mm closer to the normal working range. you'll know if you're moving too fast as the bead will likely explode, lol...

if nothing else consider this great practice in heat control... Good luck!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Give ideas away - there are new ones underneath... Diane Vreeland
Old 2010-09-07, 11:09pm