No users in chat

The Flow

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-05-22, 7:45am
Christine

Default Help with Dots and Stringers

I am new to lampwork. Can someone give me some advice on how to make the dots consistent when applying them to a bead.....I seem to get some larger than others...... also any helpful advice on applying stringers on a bead - I find that it gets globby in some spots, and thinner in others......Any advice most welcome!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2008-05-22, 8:07am

I know what you mean. Ok, so you need to practice your heat control. Don't let it get too globby. You can do this by not working directly in the flame. Work in the back and to the right or left of the flame. This will help with the heat control. Or some people turn their flame down and work like that to do dots and then turn it back up.
Hope that helps.
Amy

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2008-05-22, 8:09am
Formerly "HillyBeads"

For me, the only way to get dot consistency is make LOTS of dot beads. I never heard any tricks that helped me, just practice, practice, practice. The more dots you make, the more you will get familiar with the consistency the glass needs to be for the size dot you need.

For stringer work, I turn my flame down and work with the stringer near the flame but not in it. That way, I am applying it when the glass is still a bit stiff, not all melty and globby, so I have better control.

Good luck, and have fun practicing!

Old 2008-05-22, 8:39am
Glassy Lady

Work at the edge of your flame, don't put the stringer into the flame, otherwise you will end up with too much molten glass and your dots will be too big.