No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2005-10-18, 1:58pm

Thumbs up Batch Annealing Help

Hello
I finally was able to purchase a kiln! WHOO HOO!! It does not get delivered for three more weeks. But I am patient.
My query is I've been making beads for 4 or 5 months and none of my beads have been annealed. They have just been cooled in either a blanket or vermiculite. I know some of my beginner beads are sad looking but they are my first ones and I want to make a couple of charm bracelets with them. I am so sentimentel . Anyways how do you batch anneal. All the beads are off the mandrels. Will some of them break or crack?
Also the kiln I purchased is an Aim 84BD with bead door and a 3 button digital controller. Any opinions or tips for this kiln.
What else do you need to get for a kiln. How do you stop glass from sticking to the kiln or do you use some kind of "kiln furniture"?
Any replies would be appreciated. I am so excited.
Kindest Regards Penny

Make A Great Day!
Old 2005-10-18, 2:59pm
Gentleman of Leisure

Yes you are going to lose some beads... Its just a matter of fact... Some probably have cracks in them from the stress of slow cooling process.

Anyway place beads on kiln floor or in unglazed ceramic bowl (or Pyrex).. And place in kiln, bring kiln up to annealing temperature over 2 or so hours (very slowly) hold at 960f. for about 1 hour and then cool to room temperature over about 3-5 hours. IF kiln is made of fire brick you can probably shut off power (to elements) when kiln is down about 300-400F and let it cool to room temp on its own... No peeking till cool.