Lampwork Etc.

TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2009-04-29, 10:23pm
Glass, what's glass???

Default Total newbie has a torch question

Hi all,
I hope I'm posting this in thre correct place!

OK, let me forst start off by saying I'm the newbiest of newbies, never once actually "made" a bead, (but plan on being a professional in a matter of hours...LOL) and I don't have all the necessary equipment yet (the proper torch) but I'm starting to "play around" with melting glass and "attempting" to create just a very simple bead on a mandrel with the torch that I "do" have.

The torch is a Berzomatic TS4000, with a MAPP Pro tank currently screwed into it.

I am very soon going to buy a "hothead" torch at a local shop, so this issue may or may not remedy itself when I do that, but I thought I'd ask this just so I know a little more on the subject.

The question i have is that when I melt the glass rod in the flame using this torch, I get this black crap all through the glass, it looks like "soot" from the burning fuel, it discolours the glass, and leave a weird black residue all ofer the outside that is pemenent and does not come off.

Is this just because the particular torch I'm using is not "mixing" the MAPP gas properly with the air, thus causing gunk to form on the glass?

That's what I'm "assuming" is going on.

I'm sure to those who are experienced here are laughing at what a "stupid" question this is, which is probably totally "obvious" to everyone, well, everyone but me that is...lol.

Oh, by the way, I know it looks funny, but this is my "very first" attempt at a glass bead, I've never even made just a round simple one yet, so go easy on me, this is the "first" attempt at a glass bead ever...lol.