Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2010-02-05, 7:36pm
one day at a time

Default Is anyone using a leaf masher tool with boro??

I just got this tool and I was thinking about using it with boro rather than soft glass. Is anyone using one for boro? It's not too stiff to use this type of masher, is it??

I'm a total boro newbie, but I did get a taste of it back in 2005 and made a few large honking beads, like 25-30mm. That's a LOT bigger than my lil' soft glass 12mm beads. LOL!

I'm using a Bobcat with a high pressure Airsep generator, so I have plenty of O2, and I can get 12-14mm rods to melt quickly enough.
Old 2010-02-05, 9:10pm
Borovangelist

You can use the bbq mashers with it, I don't see why it wouldn't work with boro.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Old 2010-02-05, 9:20pm
one day at a time

Thanks!

Does anyone have any pictures of leaves made with this tool? Pretty please??

I did find an awesome tutorial a while back by Kalera on how to use it with soft glass. I suppose the same would be for the boro, but I wondered about pulling the point end out, because boro is certainly not going to get molten the way soft glass does.
Old 2010-02-05, 11:45pm

TimiaGlass has a youtube video of using boro leaf mashers.

Old 2010-02-06, 2:41am
Pyromaniac

These wands have petals made with a leaf masher.
You can make the tips much more pointed if you like.

Sexy Barracuda and Mirage

Old 2010-02-06, 6:01am
crabby...who me?

Why didn't you just try it with boro to see how it worked?Its simple enough to do.
Old 2010-02-06, 8:35am
Happy Beadmaker!