LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Old 2009-08-20, 11:51am
Always a Newbie

Question Opinions on the Smith Little Torch needed

Has any of you used a smith little torch. It says it reaches 5300 on MAPP. Im a total newbie and would like something for learning glasswork and copper work.

Any opinion would be appreciated.
Old 2009-08-20, 12:50pm
The Battle of Boro Boro

These are VERY handy little torches to have around, especially if you are doing jewelry work or intricate sculpture. I use mine on the same set-up as my Bobcat and Rocket (propane/oxy) and it gets hot enough for boro joint work easily.

However, know that this is a special purpose torch and will not work for you if you are looking for a primary torch for glass. (You mentioned that you would like to learn glasswork.)

For learning, I would suggest a GTT Cricket/Bobcat, or Nortel Minor.
Old 2009-08-20, 12:54pm
Super Duper

If you want to learn glasswork then the little torch is not what you want.

I have one for paperweights and while it is invaluable for what it does, it is a pain to set a neutral flame and only useful in very specific instances.

You aren't going to make anything out of glass with only the little torch.
Old 2009-08-20, 1:15pm
Certified Thread Killer

I bought a Little Torch when I bought my whole tank setup so that I could make sure that it had exactly the same connections as my oxy & propane hoses and that it would be interchangeable.

I have yet to use it. Since y'all are already here, what would be its soft glass application? Joint work as well? Can a small portion of a glass bead be heated to melting without exploding the whole thing?

Just asking because, well, you are here anyway and it fits the topic.

Thanks

~Rachelle
Old 2009-08-20, 2:06pm
The Battle of Boro Boro