Lampwork Etc.

Send a PM to CorriDawn!

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2012-04-02, 7:47am

Default O2 setting for National 8m

Hey all, I am a noob. I have been running a National 8m for about 8 hours or so. I seem to be blowing through o2. Just yesterday I went and got a K tank, and I am already at 1000lbs with only about 3 hours on it. I have tested all my connections and nothing seems to be leaking. I have my pressure set about 15psi, and I am running the SM21 tip.
I am using an older regulator that is a little noisy (hissy).
Could it be a leaky regulator diaphragm? or am I setting it wrong? or could it be the SM21 tip? should I grab something like the HTC2?
Any and all tips welcome. Thanx!
Old 2012-04-02, 7:58am

Depends on the tip, I am not familiar with that torch, and the flame settings. On my Lynx center if I am working color in an oxidizing flame I get 8-9 hours on a K tank.
Old 2012-04-02, 8:21am

Thanx. I guess I need to consider that I may ust neto consume a lot of O2. I will say the, chart that came with it list psi settings for a lot of tips, but not the SM21.
Old 2012-04-02, 9:43am

I am not familiar with the national but your Oxy consumption does not seem excessive compared to mine. Maybe someone else familiar with that torch can make comments or suggestions. One way to be sure that there are no gross leaks is to open up the tank valve and dial in the regulator with everything else closed tight. Is there a drop in the regulator dials? Everything should hold as you set it. Also spray some soapy water onto all of the hose terminations and fittings and look for bubbles with the pressure up.
Old 2012-04-02, 8:26pm

You could post in the torch room you might get more response.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.