LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-01-07, 4:14pm

Default Can't get beads off mandrel -- very frustrated!

Hello,
I'm pretty new to the lampwork thing and am still just only making basic beads. My problem is that I can't get the darned things off the mandrel. What in the world is the trick and what am I doing wrong? I have tried washing them off and I have also tried putting the metal end of the mandrel into ice water to shrink the metal. Today I had a decent time at the torch and I only got one mandrel to release the bead. I have to say that I could really get addicted to this, but trying to get the beads off is killing my hands. I use a pair of pliers on the mandrel and one of those anti-slip things from my kitchen to wrap around the bead. It's worked in the past, but today, I can't get anything off. If you have any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it.
Old 2008-01-07, 4:42pm

Are you useing bead release?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

# M 114
Old 2008-01-07, 4:43pm

ummm soak it a while then try again? maybe overnight!
I take mine outta the kiln, dump them in a vase of water, crunch off the exposed bead release (its kinda theraputic), dump them back in the water again, then to get them off, I dont use pliers as I couldn't get a good enough grip so I use adjustable mole grips! maybe thats a thought, also I grip the bead with non-slip stuff or a damp dish cloth.
I vaguely recall being told to try putting them in the freezer, or tapping the mandrel end on to vibrate the bead release loose. alternatively your gonna have one pretty pot stick aren't you!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.