Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2012-05-23, 6:32pm

Default kiln annealing metal for making core lined beads

Hi, I am a total beginner with making my own metal lined beads.
I have bought the Nortel bead liner & some copper & brass tubing.
The tubing has not been annealed. I wanted to use my kiln to
anneal the tubes, but I don't know what tempature to use. Can
anyone tell me what tempature to anneal the metal tubes?
Thank you, Cynthia
Old 2012-05-23, 6:54pm
Lampworkaholic!

I know you can anneal silver at about 1300-1400. I think you'd want to go pretty hot, maybe 1700-1800 for copper and brass.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"And all will turn to silver glass, a light on the water, grey ships pass into the west." Annie Lennox
Old 2012-05-23, 7:04pm
Nikki Haverstock

I never annealed the metal I got from Ginko or Ace hardware so it might not be required.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2012-05-23, 7:23pm

I'm in Australia & I didn't buy the tubes from Ginko. I bought
from a hobby store.
Old 2012-05-24, 3:02pm
Glass Hive Kiln Tech.

Also be careful about metal in a glass kiln. Copper and bronze (not sure of brass) off gas at high temps and the bricks or fiber will absorb this metal fume. Over time you will change the atmosphere in your kiln and begin getting the dreaded gunmetal haze on the turquoise and dark plum type colors. I used a bronze mandrel rest for awhile and it took forever to get the kiln back to normal atmosphere. I am not even sure it got normal, I think I upgraded kilns.

It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see.
Henry David Thoreau
Old 2012-05-24, 3:14pm
honorary bead lady