LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2010-07-12, 1:19am

Default Mask to prevent "glassblowers lung"?

I knew before I even started buying equipment to start lampworking that there were potentially hazardous conditions that had to be delt with and every precaution taken to prevent injury or future illness.

I installed an over 900cfm vent hood, I am still working on my barley box design but I WILL get one made soon, I open a window for fresh air ventilation and I might get vents put under the bench, but if not I still have adequate fresh air with the window.

So as a newbie, I was feeling pretty good about my set up, and I come across this thread about someone who has been lampworking for 17 years with great ventilation and now has been diagnosed with chronic "glassblowers lung" and COPD and generally sounds like her lungs have turned to mush. Scared the crap out of me! I DO NOT want to do ANYTHING wrong to allow my lungs to become sickly!! I'll wear a full face mask respirator in the heat of summer with my vent hood on if that will prevent me from becomming ill in future.

There are SO many masks out there, I've looked, I'm still looking. I'm researching on a full mask respirator that will filter any stray fumes that could possibly slip past my vent hood (and of course you already have to wear a respirator when using frit/silver glass/heavy lead glass etc) so sounds like a person would be much better off to just wear one all the time when lampworking. And as a newbie, it'll be easier to make it part of the routine now.