Lampwork Etc.

AKDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Caber Light

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2007-02-11, 11:06pm
Julie Nordine

Default HELP - torch, oxycon & kiln opportunity

I'm new to lampworking & am currently using a HH w/ a 7# propylene tank. (I went through my first tank in 17 hours...I kept a tally.... is this normal??? the 17 hours, not the tally keeping, LOL!)

I know for a fact that I'll be continuing on w/ lampworking & figured that by this summer I'll be wanting to upgrade to a better torch setup...& an oxycon over tanked oxygen seems like the way to go.

Anyway...I have come upon the opportunity to purchase a Mini CC torch & a Mobilaire V oxycon (6 PSI / 5 LPM...9k hours) from a friend of a local LE member. I've been doing lots of research & am not so sure that my findings pair these two up very well. You guys seem to know your stuff, so I'm bringing this to you for a solid answer.

IS one single 6 PSI / 5 LPM unit enough for a Mini CC? If not, what torches are?
What oxycon would you recommend for a Mini CC? (or any other under $200 torches out there)

(I want to be able to do all of the great reactive stuff that aren't as possible on a HH.)

If I go for the local oxycon, what's a reasonable price for it?

Anything else I should know or ask?

As far as the kiln goes...it's an Arrow Springs AF99 kiln...might or might not be available. It has a pyrometer, but doesn't have a digital controller...it's brick lined...is it okay w/out the controller? I don't want to have to babysit it. If you have one of these, what do you think of it? (I'm leaning towards brick lining as I'd like to be doing PMC at some point, too.)

TIA for any info/advice!! You guys are fabulous!

..........................FINGERPRINTS ARE OVERRATED!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.