Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2010-06-12, 6:36am

Default Bees Wax

Hi everyone. I am a complete newbie. I love working with the glass just am not very good at it yet. I do have a question though. I went to a craft fair and there was a lady selling some amazing pendants. We were talking to her just picking her brain really. She mentioned that she used bees wax for bead release and would never use anything different. How does that work?lol How does the wax not melt in the flame? I am very interested in this as I have always had a problem with bead release.
Old 2010-06-12, 11:05am
Ass-kicking Cephalopod

Were her pendants glass? I know that sounds like a silly question but there is no way you can make glass anything on a bees wax bead release.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

DOG is my co-pilot
Cricket w/two 5 lpm oxycons - and sometimes a Minor.
Old 2010-06-12, 11:30am
Borovangelist

Seriously...the stuff would burn off pretty quick in the flame.

Though now I'm tempted to see if I have any bent mandrels and give it a try since I have a block of it out there for my jacks.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|
Old 2010-06-12, 11:37am

Some peeps dip their sculpting tools in bees wax. They swear it helps glide the tool and prevent it from sticking to the glass. I can not imagine using it as a bead release though.

Just my thoughts.

Sue
and the present is a gift.
Old 2010-06-12, 11:38am
Borovangelist