Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2013-01-25, 4:46pm

Default getting started on boro

Hey, i am fresh to lampworking as a whole and was looking to start off by jumping into boro. At first I was looking for classes to get started but there seems to be no studios offering any classes near the Huntington Beach area so ive decided to invest in equipment to start up. As I said I am completely new to all of this so any knowledge is helpful. I am leaning towards getting the redmax with the premix minor, is this a good selection for someone new or should I go with something else?
Old 2013-01-25, 5:22pm
Now part of the Dark Side

Personally, I'd recommend the Bethlehem Alpha, or if you have the cash the Bravo, you'll be happier in the long run. I started on a Nortel Red Rocket and went to the Bravo. I'd also recommend starting with COE 104, and then go to boro. The techniques you learn with soda lime will transfer to boro readily, and you don't need to get it as hot as boro. I spent my first year and a half just making soft glass marbles. Don't expect to be a master in just 3 or 4 years, this is a life long learning skill. Welcome to the obsession.
Old 2013-01-25, 5:53pm
Flamewoman