Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2008-06-21, 7:58pm

Default Hot head questions

Hi.. I am a newbie.. love making beads, been taking a class and want to make them at home also.. I want to get a hot head, cause gas lines are not an option now. What are the detriments of a hot head ? I have been working on a torch with oxygen and natural gas in class. Is there any coe 104 glass or frit which will not work well with a hot head?

thanks, Liz
Old 2008-06-21, 8:35pm

Default I have been lampworkign for a year and...........

using a hot head. I torch outside due to space issues. I use propane - buy it in the barbque tanks.

Stay away from alabastros and opalinos until you are feeling good about flame control. They need to be worked very cool. Tourquiose also needs to be worked cool to keep from drawing the silver to the surface.

When I started I was constantly scumming my moretti clear. Someone on here posted that it is just bad clear so I tried vetrofond clear and had no more scumming.

Take a look at the hot head thread in the gallery. There are some amazing artists who continue to inspire me by what they achieve on a hothead. It just takes that old PPP!

Vicki
Old 2008-06-21, 8:46pm

Some of the silver-laden glasses are more of a challenge to strike/reduce on the hothead, but other than that, there really isn't a whole lot you can't do as far as 104 coe stuff goes It's a nifty little torch--loud, not really adjustable as far as getting a pinpoint flame (lol), but with practice, you can do pretty much anything with it--there are quite a few lampworkers (not me--my beads are still just ok, ) who make incredible things with the hothead!
~luna

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.