Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Frantz Art Glass & Supply

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2013-04-29, 8:16am
Spell Monkey

Default Yet Another Setup Question, OxyCons and Kilns

I am aware that there might be similar questions/posts throughout these forums but I have been unsuccsseful in finding the answer:

I am about a week away from purchasing a Bethlehem Bravo. I started learning lampworking from a bead maker, but my interests are more inclined toward sculptural boro work (and dare I say it? pipes). I don't know anything about oxygen concentrators and will not be buying one right away but I would like to know what a good OxyCon setup would be for working medium-large boro sculptures on the Bravo.

Additionally, I also don't know too much about Kilns and was wondering if anyone could recommend a decent starter kiln for boro sculpture and pipes that wouldn't be outgrown right away.

Any advice/help/suggestions/whathaveyou would be really appreciated!

Thanks!
Old 2013-04-29, 8:36am
Now part of the Dark Side

Some things you may not have considered, power wise.

Kilns REQUIRE 15 to 20 amp dedicated 120V circuits, depending on the kiln may be higher (240V) for larger kilns, read the specs very carefully. Oxycons need about 5 amps for each one, so max of 3 on any given circuit.
Old 2013-04-29, 8:48am

Hey Rotten,