Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Donate via PayPal to donate@lampworketc.com

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions

Tips, Techniques, and Questions -- Technical questions or tips

Old 2013-09-06, 6:48pm

Question graphite mandrels

Hello and thank you to anybody willing to read this. I am fairly new to lampworking in fact i have only made a few beads and havent yet invested in a good torch or glass. My current set up includes my propane pipe soldering torch and clear glass from an old front porch light. My mandrels are pieces of pencil leads held with needle nose pliers. Aside from all of the other things i dont know my main question is how come everybody says glass wont stick to graphite when it will for me? Is there any reason for this? Am i just special? Does it have something to do with the glass i am using? Or even the torch? Any answers or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Mike
Old 2013-09-06, 6:58pm
MacGalver

Hi Mike~

Can you remove the mandrels after the glass has cooled? If you can, then the glass isn't really sticking to the mandrel, more sticking to itself around the mandrel, if that makes sense to you.

I have to admit I admire your inventiveness in trying to find a way to work with glass despite not having either the materials or the tools ~ Go you! The good news is you're really going to love it once you get your hands on some real materials!

Jo

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2013-09-06, 7:06pm
Loving learning

From what I'm reading pencil lead isn't pure graphite, so maybe it's sticking to the binder?
Old 2013-09-06, 7:08pm

Thanks jo and yes i have a special...umm tool i suppose you could call it (a nail sticking out of some wood) that i use to remove and discard the used pencil lead since i have found it only works once and well maybe the binder is what makes that smoke when i heat it