Lampwork Etc.

Mountain Glass Arts

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Glacial Art Glass

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Boro Room

Boro Room -- For Boro-related tips, techniques, and questions.

Old 2011-03-10, 4:33pm
geekitude on two wheels

Default Getting a nice lip or edge

Hi all! I'm a boro and tubing noob, I've been trying to make some little necked jars and stuff and they all have crappy looking tops. I've been pulling the neck out of my bubble, like you would pull a point, then heating where I want it cut and blowing it out really thing and flame cutting. Is this a bad method for getting a nice even edge? Do i need to do something after that before I flare it? All attempts at evening it out after I cut it off seem to result in abject failure. I'm not sure if I need more practice, a different tech, or I'm missing a step. I'm going for a shape kind of like this, with out foot or handles. Help!

http://www.vetriglass.com/Anfora/M/B003FJW3ZI.htm

Last edited by scoutycat; 2011-03-10 at 6:03pm.
Old 2011-03-10, 4:46pm
Marbles, dude, Marbles

Excellent question. I'd like to improve my mind by having someone explain to it what techniques they use. Thanks in advance.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2011-03-10, 7:20pm
Pyromaniac

Ruffling the top hides a multitude of sins - It's also good for making wonky goblet feet look good. My suggestion to you, however, is to get a pair of cup shears and trim the top even after you blow it out and flame cut it. It works remarkably well with a little practice.

Fortune Cookie say, "When things go wrong, don't go with them!"

Current Glass-Melting Apparatus:
GTT Lynx powered by 2 5 LPM Oxycons and
a sexy Barracuda running pure tanked Oxy
Old 2011-03-10, 7:42pm

Jen,