Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Safety

Safety -- Make sure you are safe!

Old 2006-03-08, 6:07pm

Default The Perfect Garage Vent System?

I need to improve the vent system I'm currently using in my garage, however, the more I read the more my head is spinning.

Can someone, in simple terms (I'm a former kindergarten teacher...when I say "simple" I MEAN simple!) tell me what I need?

For example...

Can I find a powerful enough hood w/ fan at Home Depot?

That hood should hang just slightly above my head, correct? And, it should vent outside using 8" smooth galvanized metal ductwork?

I notice that in several photos the workstation/hood has sides. Is that to minimize the draft?

What about replenishing with fresh air? Can I simply open the garage door a few inches? Or does fresh air need to be brought in via another vent system?

Thanks for your help.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 2006-03-08, 7:38pm

Simple terms, and a disclaimer, I'm not a safety guru.

I have yet to find anything locally that is big enough, or that utilizes an 8" duct. I know many people who have range hoods from the home stores. I don't know if they worry about the 8" duct. Don't get a duct that has ridges (slows down the air movement). That I believe is the reason to specify galvanized.

The sides help contain the fumes so the vent works more effectively. Not everyone uses sides.

Your fresh air has to be equal to what is being exhausted. In other words you don't want to suck all the air out of the garage. (I get that one.) I've read it should come from behind you, so it doesn't cross from the open air to the vent and miss the fumes. (Probably didn't sound right but works in my mind.)

Good luck.