LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

The Flow

Beads of Courage

Old 2008-08-27, 3:51pm
Certified Thread Killer

Default 2 Questions: Mega Minor and Oxygen Tanks

First, hello! Another "Rachelle" here. I'm new to lampworking and have been torching a couple of times a week for the last month or so.

Question #1: Just WHAT is the neutral flame on the Mega Minor supposed to look like? I have searched and searched. If I use the flame as learned on the Minor it is too hot. If I adjust the candles as I read here to about 1", the flame seems too huge and not very useful, and plenty wasteful as far as fuel & oxy are concerned. Does anyone have an image or some kind of guideline? I have been looking (even here for two days...)

Question #2: Can SCUBA tanks be used for extra oxygen tanks? Not sure why I would want to other than they're moderately lightweight and hold oxygen, plus the cylinders can be purchased at a much lower cost.

--------------------------------------------------------

I started by taking a workshop where I learned the very basics on a Minor with NG and tanked oxygen. Probably what most teaching studios have.

I returned home (1,000 miles away) and applied what I had learned to using the HotHead. The DH told me that I was having way too much fun by the amount of MAPP gas that I was going through. The local hardware store raised the price per canister by $3.00 EACH, ironically since I started buying it. It's a small town and with the quantity I keep buying I swear the locals think I'm cooking meth...but I digress...

The DH advised me to get a surface-mix torch if I were going to continue on with this "hobby". I did my research and found the Mega Minor to be perfect for now. I do mostly smaller beads rather than large sculptural pieces anyway.