Lampwork Etc.

TrueDesign

LE Live Chat

Enter Live Chat

No users in chat

Jelveh Designs - Glass Beads Torched One-by-One

Beads of Courage

Go Back   Lampwork Etc. > Library > Tips, Techniques, and Questions > Torch Questions

Old 2006-04-06, 8:21am

Talking Minor torch newbie question-flame size/appearance???HELP!!

Hi everyone! This is the first post I have made since joining the group-I have been melting glass for about 8 months and just got a minor after using a HH. I LOVE it...but my flame seems to want to have this little feathery looking tip on the end that curves upward. Is that OK or am I doing something wrong? I don't remember what the neutral flame looked like when I worked with my instructor. I am using an oxygen concentrator set on 4.5 lpm and bottled propane. I set the propane pressure up to 8 psi this morning and turned up the oxy and that made a slight difference and the flame was nice and hot. I want to make sure I don't melt my torch into an amorphous lump or blow myself up. I would really appreciate any/all info and advice or even pics of what the neutral minor flame is supposed to look like. THANKS in advance-Vanessa
Old 2006-04-06, 8:32am

Hi Vanessa nice to meet you!

A Minor flame on an oxycon looks a little different than on bottled 02. I run mine with the Oxycons set at 4 (purer 02 that way...this reading has nothing to do with pressure just pruity) and the propane regulator set at about 3.

Be sure you have no leaks on either the propane or the oxycon connections/lines.

A flame that tips upward usually means it is a weak flame or perhaps your ventilation is pulling the flame that way. Do you have very strong ventilation?